The First Cut is the Deepest

People always say that getting started is the hardest part. Well,  people have never been so astute. And as for figuring out what to write about for my first post, I have found it to be a task so gargantuan that this blog has sat around for the past week collect digital dust. Ideas come and ideas go, some I deemed okay but most I threw away as bad. However, not one ever made it to the point where I would sit down and write about it. But eventually I had to start somewhere, right?

So, why did it have to be so hard? I really just wanted to say “Welcome to my blog! Enjoy!” Maybe it was the overuse of exclamation points (here is a little tidbit: I really hate exclamation points). Or maybe it was just so plainly generic that I couldn’t bring myself to actually write it. Or maybe I am just too lazy. Any of those options seems plausible, and they are probably all true. But whichever way you slice it, I just didn’t know what to say or write or show or do. I have heard blogging isn’t as easy as it looks. If we are being honest, that is also probably 100% true.

But here it is. My first blog post. My first post for a blog where I am going to write about my travels in what some call the Motherland (or in less dramatic fashion the place where my parents are from). I didn’t want it to be too long, or too boring, or too whatever. Looks like I’m failing. Here’s to hoping it gets better from here, because I want to consider this the rock bottom of blogging (and the sky is the limit right?).

My name is Christopher Buoy (I’ve also accrued the monikers C, Pher, Keper, Booyah, Pherbie, and the day to day Chris). For the months of June and July, I will be travelling to Phnom Penh, Cambodia to work with an NGO concerning HIV/AIDS prevention and education. And here is where I will document all the experiences (joyous or not) and details (bloody or not). And you get the pleasure of reading all about it if you so desire. Yippee for you.

Eventually, I will get around to making an About Me page, along with other organizational pages so this place isn’t such a train wreck, so you will be able to find whatever information on me or whatever blackmail you want. While this is intended for me to document my travels, it won’t be the only thing you find here. I’ll give you whatever my little brain wants to put down, including, but not limited to, Cambodia, things I think about the world, things I think about people, things not about Cambodia, and probably things I think about elephants, corgis, Pokemon, Adam Levine, Titanic, and the like.

I guess this would be the appropriate time to say “Welcome to my blog! Enjoy!”?

Or I will direct you to some pictures from my last trip to Cambodia (we will call it a vacation, which my next trip will not be titled).

2 thoughts on “The First Cut is the Deepest

Leave a Reply

